RSS

Cageball, Poker, and the Atomic Wedgie – Take 2

13 Mar

The original artwork that I created in Microsoft Word. Hard to believe, huh?

Cageball, Poker, and the Atomic Wedgie: A Tale of Catholic School Mischief started out as my senior project in college. Over the next few years, in order to pass the hours of various mind-numbing jobs – administrative assistant, pricing coordinator, industrial cement inside sales (seriously) – I worked on the book until deciding to go the pay-to-publish route in 2003.

Over the next few years I managed to sell around 3,000 copies on my own, forcing them on my friends and relatives, people at weddings, my coworkers, the cashier in the grocery store, etc. I even sold a book to a man in Australia, who said he found it online while he was Googling “wedgies.”

As the years passed and I honed my writing skills (as evident here), I cringed anytime I glanced at the book, which included dozens of typos. Recently I revised Cageball, eliminating most of the typos (hopefully) and restyling from one long story into a collection of stories, which you can now download for free as a PDF ebook.

I hope you enjoy it!

PS: Please don’t tell me if you find any typos.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Cageball, Poker, and the Atomic Wedgie – Take 2

  1. silentaug (@silentaug)

    March 14, 2012 at 6:45 am

    This is excellent Val! As the aforementioned “wedgie googler” from australia I appreciate the opportunity to get the latest edition of the book MINUS having to spend all that time looking at frightening google results of wedgies! Plus, now that I’m a dad, who has time what with accelerated aging and 3pm dinners! (https://valentinebrkich.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/the-aging-process/ is still the best darn post on parenthood i’ve ever read). OK, that’s all, daddy needs to rest. 🙂

    – august “the aussie wedgie googler!”

     
    • brkichvj

      March 14, 2012 at 7:13 am

      You rock, August! Thanks for being my No. 1 fan!!

       
  2. Jennifer Graham

    March 24, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    I enjoyed reliving all those memories from your perspective. The chapter about the bouncy balls made me laugh out loud 🙂 I participated in my fair share of SSPP hi-jinks but it was totally worth it, I wouldn’t have changed a thing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
